MILK N FUR TAG TUTORIAL 














Written by Meshi 

Fun fact: This tag tutorial is gleaned from 

the first tutorial I ever wrote. :)

Updated to a Tag tutorial September 25, 2026

 

Needed:

*Paint Shop Pro

This was written in PSP2019, but can

easily be done in other versions.

*Your own photo, or an image with

a background, that you have 

permission to "paint".

Note:

A wider than tall image might

be best with just the background

tile. It's totally up to you though! :)


Turning the image milky could be

skipped, if you prefer. *Or you can

use it at any strength you like.

 

Unless stated otherwise, all

settings will remain the same

throughout the tutorial.

 

Frame

 

1. File > Open

Open your image

 

2. Window > Duplicate (Shift + D)

Close the original

 

3. Image > Resize
Settings:
Resample using = Smart Size
Lock aspect ratio = Checked
Resize all layers = Checked
Height = 320 Pixels

Width will self adjust

 

4. Adjust > Sharpness > Unsharp

Mask

Settings:

Radius = 1.00

Strength = 47

Clipping = 5

Luminance only = Checked

 

Note:

If you do not want your image to be

a milky one, skip steps 5 - 8

5. Layers > Duplicate


6. Layers Palette

Change the Blend Mode on your

top layer, from Normal to Darken.

The change may not seem all that

different to you if you are using a

darker image.

Note:

One tester found that she needed

to lower the opacity to 85.

*If you'd like, duplicate your original.

Then after you do the next two 

steps, you can play with lowering

the opacity to 50% or whatever 

looks best to you- even turning 

off the milky layer if you'd like.

 

7. Adjust > Blur > Gaussian Blur

Settings:

Radius = 5.00

 

8. Layers > Merge > Merge Visible

(or Merge Down, if you duplicated

your original.)

 

9. Dropper Tool (E)

Left click on your image for a

Foreground color (dark or light)

and 

Right click on your image for a 

Background color

Note:

They need to have a big enough

difference between the colors/

shades to show the fur well on

each other

 

10. Image > Add Borders

Settings:

Symmetric = Checked

Size in pixels = 5

Color = Foreground

 

11. Magic Wand Tool

Settings:

Mode = Replace

Match mode = RGB Value

Tolerance = 0

Use all layers = Unchecked

Contiguous = Checked

Feather = 0

Anti-alias = Checked

Inside = Chosen

Use your magic wand to select

your border

Note: If at any time you have a

problem selecting only the border 

you just added, do this instead of 

using the magic wand: 

Select All, add the Border and 

Selections > Invert.

 

12. Effects > 3D Effects > Inner Bevel

Settings:

Bevel = 5

Width = 4

Smoothness = 25

Depth = 2

Ambience = 0

Shininess = 20

Color = White

Angle = 315

Intensity = 50

Elevation = 30

Note:

Or choose your own settings

 

13. Image > Add Borders

Settings:

Size in pixels = 15

 

14. Magic Wand Tool

Select your 15 pixel border

 

15. Effects > Reflection Effects > Pattern

Use the Randomize Parameters

button to find a pattern design that

is mainly your foreground color so

that the "fur" will show well in step

19

Note:

You are welcome to use a different

effect.

 

16. Effects > 3D Effects > Inner Bevel

 

17. Image > Add Borders

Settings:

Size in pixels = 20

Color = Background

 

18. Magic Wand Tool

Select your 20 pixel border

 

19. Effects > Texture Effects > Fur

Settings:

Blur = 50

Density = 100

Length = 15

Transparency = 0

 

20. Effects > 3D Effects > Inner Bevel 

 

21. Image > Add Borders

Settings:

Color = Foreground 

 

22. Magic Wand Tool

Select your 20 pixel border

 

23. Effects > Texture Effects > Fur

 

24. Effects > 3D Effects > Inner Bevel

 

25. Image > Add Borders

Settings:

Size in Pixels = 25

Color = Background

 

26. Magic Wand Tool

Select your 25 pixel border

 

27. Effects > Texture Effects > Fur

 

28. Effects > 3D Effects > Buttonize

Settings:

Height & Width = 5

Opacity = 75

Solid = Chosen

Color = Right click in box to choose

your Foreground color

 

29. Selections > Select None

 

30. Add the correct copyright on

the image

 

31. Add your creator information on

the frame


32. You may wish to resize.

 

33. File > Export > JPEG Optimizer

Settings:

Set compression value to = 10

chroma subsampling = YCbCr 1x1 1x1 1x1 

(None)

Save Exif data = Not checked

This tutorial is from a stationery

tutorial I had previously written.

Its info is below.

Milk-N-Fur Tutorial June 2008 by Meshi

can be found at my tutorial site.

I hope you enjoyed my tutorial.

Feel free to do variations with it.

You can contact me if you have

any questions, or would like to

show me your results.

I would love to hear from you.

-Meshi

*Tutorial image used in loving

memory of Samantha.


Comments

Popular posts from this blog